Resource FormIt field with select option from a custom database table

What is the easiest way to have a dropdown / listbox to be able to select an option from a custom database table. I realise there is the select binding for template variables but I would like to have a simple snippet to create a dropdown / listbox for use in a form. I am currently exploring using FormIt to create the form and store data in my custom table.

The reason behind the question is that I want to have a form to create “players” to a custom table and I want the facility to query the custom table and check that the “player” is not duplicated and also to either create a new “player” or amend an existing “player”.

I am not experienced at php coding nor familiar with Migx, so any examples would be appreciated even if the example use these codings as I may be able to use them to understand them better.

Thanks

If you are planning to use MIGXdb for your custom database table or have a model/schema for it, you can use the MIGX-snippet migxLoopCollection to create the options for a select form field.

You would put lines like these into your FormIt code

<select name="my_select" id="my_select">
	[[!migxLoopCollection?&packageName=`mypackage` &classname=`MyClass`&tpl=`tplOption`&selected=`[[!+fi.my_select]]`]]
</select>

and then create the chunk tplOption with

<option value="[[+id]]" [[+id:eq=`[[+property.selected]]`:then=` selected="selected"`]]>[[+my_column_name]]</option>

Change all the names according to your schema.
You can also filter and sort the values with migxLoopCollection.

For a quick introduction to MIGXdb you can watch this youtube video.

Thanks halftrainedharry. I shall look into it and let you know.