Use Formit Submissions in a live graph

Hi all!

So I’ve been asked to create a voting system where members vote for either A, B or C.
I’ve got it all setup and working - but they have now asked if they can see the progress of who’s ‘winning’ (A,B or C).

So I was wondering if it’s possible to create a live graph from the form submissions to show the progess of the voting.

The submissions are being saved in the database so there must be a way to do this, but I’m not very good with PHp so not sure where to start.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Andy

How exactly do you save the submissions? Do you have a custom database table or do you use the FormItSaveForm hook?

What Javascript library are you intending to use for displaying the graph?
Or asked differently: In what format to you need the data to be?

Thanks Harry,

So i’m using the hook ‘FormItSaveForm’ to save all the submissions.
To be honest, I’m not worried too much about the display - it could just show a simple number of votes for each option.

So as simple as:

A = 20 votes
B = 30 votes
C = 40 votes

A graph would be nice and fancy, but it’s not really necessary I guess!

FormItSaveForm (database table modx_formit_forms) is not ideal to query the data, as all the form data is saved as JSON in the column values.

You probably have to loop through all the rows of the correct form (column form), decode the JSON and tally up the submissions.

Here is a link to some similar code, that you could adapt to your needs.

Ok thanks Harry,

I’ve had a play, and I’ve got as far as showing all the submissions individually on the page using the snippet you kindly sent.

Are you saying that it could fall over because this is an inefficient way of doing it?
There could be a few thousand submissions.

I also need to total them up, as at the moment it’s just showing me each one as a row.

Thanks
Andy

Yes, this is inefficient. And you also have to run the snippet uncached as the data is always changing.