Pdomenu questions

all i am very new to Modx , i have pdotools installed and i am trying to add some static code (just social media icons) , but i can not add it after the [[+wapper]] as it disappears and i can not include it before the wrapper as it will duplicate on every new menu item, what would be the best way to tackle the situation ?

here is my current snippet for pdomenu
[[pdoMenu?
&parents=0
&level=1
&outerClass=navbar-nav
&rowClass=nav-item
&linkClass=nav-link
&tpl =@INLINE <li class="nav-item"><a class="nav-link" href="[[+link]]"> [[+menutitle]]</a> </li> [[+wrapper]] ]]

Hi @Syrus83,

What about trying to add your own tplOuter like:

&tplOuter=`@INLINE <ul[[+classes]]>[[+wrapper]]</ul> <div class="social-icons">...</div>`

Thanks for the quick response ,
I tried adding the &tplOuter as suggested but i seem added an extra UL tag,

do i keep the below the same ?
&outerClass= navbar-nav
&rowClass= nav-item
&linkClass= nav-link

If it’s just static html there’s no need to include it in the pdomenu call. Can you just include it in the page template next to the snippet call? If not, can you show the markup structure you’re hoping to achieve?

2 Likes

I believe that you will face some issues using inline code.
I would recommend to avoid inline calls and call a chunk instead.
All problems that I faced with pdotools were solved as soon as I moved to chunks.

Cheers

2 Likes

I just tested using your call above with the added &tplOuter. I have only two resources, home and test.

pdoMenu call:

[[pdoMenu?
    &parents=`0`
    &level=`1`
    &outerClass=`navbar-nav`
    &rowClass=`nav-item`
    &linkClass=`nav-link`
    &tpl=`@INLINE <li class="nav-item"><a class="nav-link" href="[[+link]]"> [[+menutitle]]</a> </li> [[+wrapper]]`
    &tplOuter=`@INLINE <ul[[+classes]]>[[+wrapper]]</ul> <div class="social-icons">...</div>`
]]

The Output: