How can I preview my pages before publishing them?

Hi. I’m not a developer and am new to this forum so go easy :wink:

I’ve read online that there’s a way of previewing modx web pages/resources before publishing them but I’ve not found a way to do that. I saw some information about ‘revisions’ but I’ve not found a way to turn that feature on on our manager.

Can anyone tell me how to achieve ‘previewing’, even if it’s not through the revisioning function?

Many thanks

(Partial Screenshot included in case that helps)

Hi,

You can use the “View” button visible on your screenshot. It can be marked as not published. You will be able to see it before publishing it.

Cheers

Thanks for the response. Although, if I make changes, the changes don’t show on the page when I click ‘view’ unless I save the changes. If I uncheck ‘published’, that takes the page off line I think, which is something I don’t want to do. Sorry if I’m missing something

Ok now I understood your point. Indeed if you unpublish ill, it will become offline.
The only thing I can remember is: dupplicate it, unpublish the duplicated page and make the changes. When all is ok, unpublish the main page, change the friendly url to a different one, and publish the other page with the correct friendly url.

This about replacing one page with another page.
I can’t recon any other way to accomplish what you are trying to do.

I’m not completely clear on what you’re trying to do, but the StageCoach extra will let you make changes to a resource (document) that don’t go live until some future date.

You can make changes and view the staged document as often as you like before the “stage date” when the changes will be applied to the “real” published resource. And you can do this with multiple resources at the same time.

4 Likes

Hey, that’s a pretty cool extra. Nice work! :slight_smile: