getResources issues (noob questions)

Hi, I’m new to ModX having only worked with WordPress before. I’m remaking a front page for a client in ModX. They have used TVs and getResources to display custom or dynamic content on their site. I’m now trying to achieve a similar thing for their new front page. They have a news feed where all their posts get shown, this is done with getResources. I tried to use this: [[!getResources? &parents=[[*id]]&tpl=newstest&limit=0&includeTVs=1&processTVs=1&tvPrefix=`` &depth=2]] I have this code inside the front page template file, and the posts for which I’m trying to display are nested two layers down inside containers. I can’t get this to work, maybe it’s because I need everything to be published and not hidden from menus (yepp when I try debug=true, and the resource specified it then show an array)? If I specify a direct resource inside the getResources then it shows up, so maybe something up with the parent value?I also wondered if I can use the getResources code (from above) directly inside a resource and not only inside a template file? I’ve set up the new page like: header, content and footer and used that template file for the entire page, and then just added the code inside the resource using that template.

1 Like

Hi @Krullmizter,

Welcome to the MODX forums!

The tag you’re using inside the parents parameter i.e. [[*id]] returns the current page id.
So if that’s a snippet call you’ve taken from another page then it might be referencing the wrong parent.

Instead of using [[*id]] you could just use the id number of the parent resource the data is under.
Have I understood you correctly?

3 Likes

So, it seems to be the parent value. Use the id/number of the resource-container those posts are in and it should be directed correctly.

You can, I believe, also call the getresources from a resource rather than in the template, Modx has a lot of pages that are just a call or two.