FormIt Still Sending Email

I am going nuts trying to figure out why FormIt is still sending an email when I am trying to run a custom validation and the validation hits a ‘fail’ condition. Even after the snippet runs, the email is sent. I am still new to ModX, FormIt, Fred, etc… but have looked all over to no avail.

Example:
I created a simple form for a client but now getting #$%^ spamming. FormIt’s Recaptcha never works, math option is silly so I am trying to validate on a session variable to determine if the person is submitting from the page form or not. Disclosure: I am not a hacker so I am not 100% sure how the idiots who are spamming the form are doing it but assumed this would work as the session needs to be set and validated on the page load. I have used this method many times on regular forms on sites (not ModX/FormIt). I like FormIt as it can easily store the contact form data for my client without having to write all this manually.

• I have a one page, simple website.
  • I do not redirect to a new page to actually submit. Just the generic FormIt POST and email send process.
  • I use a snippet to set the session variable right as the page loads. [[burninglog]]
  • If I submit the form as a ‘human’ using the form on the page, everything works fine. I also validated that the session value is being set and validated.
<?php
session_start();
// Set a 'burning log' in that the user must come to this page first and cannot go directly to the
// newsletter processing page. Prevents spambots and form harvesters from trying to force a form
// submission directly from the processing page. 

$_SESSION['burning_log'] = "myvalue";

On the FormIt contact form, I declare my snippet called aspamhook. All works fine and the snippet gets called on submission.

[[!FormIt?
   &hooks=`spam, email, redirect, FormItSaveForm, aspamhook`