Changing URL address will mess up my site?

I want to change the URL address for my website to something shorter and, I suspect, if I do this with the new URL that I purchase it will mess up my MODX website, some link might get broken or something?

Can anybody advice me how to go about this once I delete my old URL address and replace it with another, what I have to do in the back end MODX part of my site?

Unless configured otherwise, MODX automatically detects the current url and uses that where needed. If you’re changing domains and have not hardcoded the domain, that’ll adapt automatically.

If it’s moving across subdirectories or the server paths change, it’ll be a bit more work and you’ll likely need to edit core/config/config.inc.php. It’s worth running the setup after that as it will check paths are correct.

Thanks for this, Mark. I’m new to MODX and the guy who usually sorts this stuff for me is really busy so I have to start to learn how to do things myself and it’s all rather confusing.

How do I run the ‘setup’ and what will ‘setup’ do?

Setup checks updates all the file paths and installs base MODX software. It also sets up some of the configuration settings to link to the right folders, clears some caches that contain old settings the site manager uses. If anything is amiss, it will alert to to what needs to be done and then halt the setup procedure.

After setting up a site, the default is to delete the setup folder, for security reasons, so you may not actually have that installed now. Go to [yourdomain.com]/setup . Does anything happen? If you see a MODX setup screen, you’re in luck; just run through the process and hit OK to everything. If you get “page not found”, then you’ll have to reinstall the setup folder, which you’ll have to get from the original MODX package you installed.