Advantages of using modx?

hi guys, this is a serious and genuine question so please no flamebait responses.

I am a junior developer, worked for a company developing in modx, but now i’ve moved on to a company as an october cms developer, and i’m trying to understand the advantages of using modx over other systems.

since i’m not very experienced, there might be obvious things i’m not seeing, so please try not to be insulted by my questions or be condescending in your response.

As far as i can tell, compared to the system I am using, modx seems to have some vary glaring disadvantages. Again, these could be just perceived disadvantages, due to my inexperience.

For one, the fact that modx stores html code, and even php code (in the form of snippets) in the database, seems like a big problem for me. Doesn’t this mean that it’s impossible to version control your code? since its stored in the database you can’t commit it to git. Then you have the issue of not being able to use debugging software like xdebug through your IDE because the code is not file based. And you can’t use your IDE’s search functionality or go to method implementation (I use phpstorm btw). Also, doesn’t this architecture increase queries to the database, thus decreasing performance of your application?

I read about people using roundabout tricks to manage some form of version control, but doesn’t this make for bad developer experience and still not defeat some of the issues mentioned above?

also there are no database migrations as there are in octobercms, so version controlling your database is also troublesome

then there are things like translations and user permissions, what in other systems seems like a five minute job to set up, with modx always seemed like an uphill battle, needing to modify htaccess files to make translation packages work seems like bad practice to me