What's something you struggled with when learning MODX?

Regardless if you’re still learning or already a 10+ year veteran.

What bumps did you encounter when learning MODX that you wish had better explanations/tutorials/videos/documentation?

1 Like

Hah! I’m a 10+ year veteran and I’m definitely STILL learning. Long way to go!

However, I’ve learned much more in the last 2 years than the previous 8 or so.

Great question though …

Now that I’m taking on bigger challenges with MODX I feel that my lack of understanding of xPDO is becoming more and more apparent.

I’m very used to trying to solve all problems with Extras. This is fine to a point but more and more I find myself at the limit of an extra’s capabilities, or simply with too many embedded MODX tags to keep track of what the hell is going on.

I think the answer in a lot of these situations is to build custom snippets / plugins. My PHP is OK and I’ve been doing this a lot more recently. But I think I really want to be leveraging xPDO to get the most out of MODX.

I’ve begged and borrowed bits of xPDO to make things work - but I can’t yet sit down and just write what I want using xPDO.

I think there’s been a bit of a mental block there for a while.

So, I think the documentation for xPDO in MODX looks OK - I need to spend more time studying it. But if there were [are?] explanations / walkthroughs / tutorials for getting started then I guess that would help get me moving.

2 Likes

I started in Evo and really stumbled on the terminology and what extras to look for. I still feel like extras can be a stumbling block as I have to keep up-to-date myself just to figure out what is available and what does what.

2 Likes