User access levels / User Accounts assistance

Howdy all!

Does anyone have any good extras or documentation that clearly and easily* explains how to set up different user level accounts in MODX?

I’ve been building sites in MODX for over 12 years now, but I STILL struggle with getting the most basic of access levels accounts created. Things like an account I can create that can be used to just see pages not yet published - so a basic front end reviewer type account. Also would love to know how to create an account for a user level that can create and edit resources, but perhaps not publish.

This may sound trivial, bit I’m not exaggerating when I say I have wasted hours and hours in trying to get these to work in easy to understand and use manner. The last two sites I built I quite literally crashed the sites just creating new user groups/access policies. I have no idea how or why - but the only way to get the site live again was to delete the new user group. Why does doing this have that kind of repercussion?

This type of thing really (really) needs to be MUCH easier to do. We all build sites for people that should not have the full keys to the kingdom in their hands, yet this ability is about as convoluted as I’ve ever seen in a UI/tool.

I’ve been looking for the “a-ha” moment to this aspect of ModX for over a decade. Anyone else find it?

1 Like

These helped me a lot when I setup permissions…

The summary is that you can assign users to groups and groups can have roles with different policies.

It can get tedious if you have a lot of variations between user access requirements, but it can also be very easy going because it’s straight-forward to get setup.

Thanks - I have gone through these before, and I still don’t have a clear understanding of the simple use case of a user account to be able to just view unpublished pages for example.

Do I need a new user group? A new role? A new security policy? All of the above?