Subdomains, 403 errors, and you. Or me at least

Good day,

I’m trying to set up subdomains for my website and I’ve never done it before and cannot find easy instructions for it. I am not using the modx cloud, I am set up on godaddy, and have had some success but not enough. I’m asking for in two ways, either a tutorial on how to set up modx subdomains, or figuring out why I am receiving a 403 error.

The 403 error I suspect is either because htaccess is set up wrong or I don’t have files set up under the subdomain folder which… I can’t imagine why I would do that.

Any help is appreciated, thank you

I’m trying to set up subdomains for my website

I’m not sure what you mean by that. You can put your site in a subdomain, but web sites are usually in a particular domain or a single subdomain, not multiples. Even if you’re trying to direct more than one URL to reach the same site, the site would be in a single domain or sub-domain.

If you’re trying to set up multiple subdomains on your server, that’s not really a MODX question – it’s a hosting question.

Can you be more specific about what you’re trying to do?

Sure thing, thank you for responding.

I’ve used a previous service where there would be different subdomains depending on the user

for example:

garyatwell.companyname.com
cindytorres.companyname.com
patrickstar.companyname.com

The idea is to have one set of code written and when I update it, it would update everyones code all at once. I am a jr developer who was set loose into the wild world and may not properly understand subdomains. Thank you for any help

Actually creating the subdomains is done at the DNS level. I think GoDaddy uses cPanel so, if you can figure out how to get to cPanel, the tools in the “Domains” section of the dashboard will let you do what you need.