Locating the error

Is there a way to narrow down the location of what’s causing the below error?

I’m brand new to MODX, and I’ve mostly worked out issues, but this one has me stumped.

There’s literally thousands of this error every day.

core/xpdo/om/xpdoobject.class.php : 811) modTemplateVar: Attempt to set NOT NULL field type to NULL

Thank you!

1 Like

Hi @s4mh4ll,

Welcome to the modx community!

Well, this seems to be a problem with a template variable using a NULL assignment when the DB field was set as NOT NULL.

you can try to do to the modx seetings and enable the debug and enable the log level to 4, and try to see if you get more detailed messages.

This will help you to know what is effectively not OK.

Cheers

1 Like

Hi @jnogueira,

Thank you for the welcome!

That has certainly helped, thank you.

Errors are now like this;

modx/modlexicon.class.php : 416) Language string not found: "prop_formit.fiartpl_desc"

If you are able to give me any pointers in the right direction, it would be much appreciated.

1 Like

Hum… That error is unrelated to the one on your first post.

Do you have migx installed on your current Modx instance?
If you have migx installed, do you have any Migx TVs?

I am asking this because it can happen this in Migx where you didn’t set a inputTV on the template Var (migx type).
See more about this here

1 Like

Ah yes, looking back into the log I’m still getting the original error, too. Which hasn’t changed and isn’t giving any more details.

Yes, I do have MIGX installed.

Am I right in thinking that I’m looking for Template Variables with labels ending ‘-migx’?

1 Like

Not necessarily. If the dev that created the TemplateVars added that suffix for easier identification, then it was a good way to find them quickly, but it is not a direct flag as you can change the TV settings and not change the name.

I suggest the following:

1. Check all your TemplateVars to confirm that all are set properly - The problem should not be here.